

# **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

# **Annual Reorganization Meeting Minutes/June 13, 2017**

President Nyaboga called to order the Annual Board of Directors Reorganization Meeting of the Dr. Lena Edwards Academic Charter School on June 13, 2017 at 509 Bramhall Avenue, Jersey City, New Jersey at 5:41 PM; President Nyaboga then led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Recording Secy Maureen Hulings advised "In accordance with the New Jersey P.L. 1975, Chapter 231 (<u>SUNSHINE LAW-OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT</u>) adequate notice of this Annual Reorganization meeting has been provided to the Offices of the City Clerk of Jersey City & the Hudson County Superintendent of Schools, the Jersey Journal & the Jersey City Reporter.

#### **Attendance:**

#### **Roll Call**

TRUSTEES	Aye	Nay	Abstain	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X			
JOSEPH DI FEO	X			
PHYLLIS FASONE	X			
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X			
ELLEN ZADROGA	Xphone			
EUGENE SQUEO	X			
RICHARD IRVING				X
PATRICIA MADISON				X
YVEL CELESTIN				X

**Ex. Staff present:** Christopher Garlin, CEO

Luis Santiago/SBA/Board Secy. Maureen Hulings, Recording Secy.

Also present: James Brewer, Principal

Jeffrey Mohr, Asst. Principal

President Nyaboga asked if there were any questions or comments regarding Res. No. 6/17-1 Approval of DLEACS 2017-2018 Board Meetings Schedule; he then called for a vote to approve Res. No. 6/17-1; it was moved by Phyllis Fasone & seconded by Eugene Squeo.

## **Roll Call Vote**

TRUSTEES	Aye	Nay	Abstain	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X			
JOSEPH DI FEO	X			
PHYLLIS FASONE	X			
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X			
ELLEN ZADROGA	X			
EUGENE SQUEO	X			
RICHARD IRVING				X
PATRICIA MADISON				X
YVEL CELESTIN				X

Eugene Squeo, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, advised the Board that the nominating committee had asked Andrew Nyaboga, Joseph DiFeo & John Seazholtz if they would each accept another 3 yr. term as Board members; they all agreed to accept the nominations.

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to approve Resolution No. 6/17-2 - Reappointing Board Members, Andrew Nyaboga, Joseph DiFeo & John Seazholtz for 3 Year Terms Expiring July 1, 2020; Motion was made by Phyllis Fasone and seconded by Eugene Squeo.

#### **Roll Call Vote**

TRUSTEES	Aye	Nay	Abstain	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X			
JOSEPH DI FEO	X			
PHYLLIS FASONE	X			
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X			
ELLEN ZADROGA	X			
EUGENE SQUEO	X			
RICHARD IRVING				X
PATRICIA MADISON				X
YVEL CELESTIN				X

Eugene Squeo advised the Board that the nominating committee had asked Yvel Celestin if he would accept another 1 yr. term as the Parent Board member. He agreed to accept the nomination.

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to approve Resolution No. 6/17-3 - Reappointing Yvel Celestin as Parent Representative on the Board to a 1 Year Term expiring July 1, 2018; Motion was made by Phyllis Fasone and seconded by John Seazholtz.

# **Roll Call Vote**

TRUSTEES	Aye	Nay	Abstain	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X			
JOSEPH DI FEO	X			
PHYLLIS FASONE	X			
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X			
ELLEN ZADROGA	X			
EUGENE SQUEO	X			
RICHARD IRVING				X
PATRICIA MADISON				X
YVEL CELESTIN				X

Eugene Squeo said the Nominating Committee had agreed on the following Trustees names to be placed in nomination as follows:

Andrew Nyaboga President
Joseph DiFeo Vice President
Phyllis Fasone Treasurer

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to approve Resolution 6/17/4 appointing Andrew Nyaboga as President, Joseph DiFeo as Vice President & Phyllis Fasone as Treasurer for a 1 year term to expire July 1, 2018; Motion was made by John Seazholtz & seconded by Joe DiFeo.

#### **Roll Call Vote**

TRUSTEES	Aye	Nay	Abstain	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X			
JOSEPH DI FEO	X			
PHYLLIS FASONE	X			
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X			
ELLEN ZADROGA	X			
EUGENE SQUEO	X			
RICHARD IRVING				X
PATRICIA MADISON				X
YVEL CELESTIN				X

President Nyaboga called for a Motion to adjourn the Annual Reorganization Meeting. Motion was made by Joe DiFeo and seconded by Eugene Squeo.

## **Roll Call Vote**

TRUSTEES	Aye	Nay	Abstain	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X			
JOSEPH DI FEO	X			
PHYLLIS FASONE	X			
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X			
ELLEN ZADROGA	X			
EUGENE SQUEO	X			
RICHARD IRVING				X
PATRICIA MADISON				X
YVEL CELESTIN				X

June 13, 2017 Annual Reorganization Meeting was adjourned at 5:49 pm.

June 13, 2017 Annual Reorganization Meeting Minutes were approved at the August 8, 2017 Regular Meeting

# **Roll Call Vote**

TRUSTEES	Aye	Nay	Abstain	Absent
ANDREW NYABOGA	X			
JOSEPH DI FEO	X			
PHYLLIS FASONE	X			
JOHN SEAZHOLTZ	X			
ELLEN ZADROGA	X			
EUGENE SQUEO	X			
RICHARD IRVING			X	
PATRICIA MADISON			X	
YVEL CELESTIN			X	
SONDRA EDWARDS BUESING RILEY			X	

Certified to be a true copy

Luis Santiago/SBA/Board Secretary

Dated: August 8, 2017